Software testing basics – test levels

software test levels

Share This Post

Share on facebook
Share on linkedin
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on reddit
Share on tumblr

A Test Manager’s Guide is your essential resource created by industry experts to take you beyond the software testing basics to key strategies and metrics.

In software testing there are 4 Test Levels. They can be encountered when testing both a system and a system of systems (multiple, dispersed, independent systems in context as part of a larger and more complex system). If this article I am going to show my test manager view on the software testing test levels.

test manager test levels

Component / Unit Test

Focuses on components that are separately testable.

Integration Test

Focuses on interactions between components or systems.

System Test

Focuses on the behavior and capabilities of a whole system or product, often considering the end-to-end tasks the system can perform and the non-functional behaviors.

Acceptance Test

Focuses on the behavior and capabilities of a whole system or product: confidence, completion, fit for use & purpose. Some call it user acceptance testing.

The best way to navigate across the software Test Levels is to follow a predefined course, to constantly monitor it as you go along and apply course corrections whenever you see fit.

Test manager plan monitor metrics control

If you liked this article and want to learn more about software test management, then I would recommend that you check out our eBookA Test Manager’s Guide.

This article is based on the ISTQB Advanced Syllabus version 2012 and it also references the ISTQB Foundation Syllabus version 2018. It uses terminology definitions from the ISTQB Glossary version 3.2.

Follow & Subscribe

Get updates and learn from the best

A Test Manager's Guide

The ultimate ebook for more than software testing basics

A Test Managers Guide

A Test Manager's Guide

How would you like to have all the software testing knowledge you need in one comprehensive book?